What are climate zones?

There are 3 main climate zones which are determined by the lines of latitude and where the sun is at different times of the year.

The climate zones are polar, temperate and tropical. These can also determine the natural features of a place.



The Rocky Mountains

The Rocky Mountains are found in western North America. They span from western Canada through the counties of British Columbia and Alberta all the way over the border into the USA through the states of Montana, Wyoming, Idaho, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, & Arizona.

The climate ranges dramatically across the Rockies as it stretches over many climate zones.



Physical Features:

In the Rockies you might find mountains, lakes, waterfalls e.g. Alberta falls, Bear Lake;

Human Features:

National Parks, tourist attractions

Etwall Primary School

North America

Y 5/6



Sticky Knowledge Facts.

North America is in the Northern Hemisphere but does reach down towards the equator. It includes the USA, Greenland, Alaska and Canada.

There are 23 countries in North America, with Canada being the biggest, by land area.

Key Vocabulary

Equator An imaginary line running horizontally through the Earth, dividing the earth into northern and southern hemispheres.

Human features: features of a place that are a result of human activity, such as shops, farms, homes and roads

 $\ensuremath{\textbf{Landscape}}$: what you can see when you look across an area of land

Latitude: These lines show how far north and south a place is. These lines run parallel with the equator. the distance you live from the Equator. Other latitudes are called the Arctic and Antarctic Circles and the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn.

Longitude: These lines show how far east or west a place is. These lines run from the top to the bottom of the earth.

National Park: An area of countryside, or occasionally sea or fresh water, protected by the state for the enjoyment of the general public or the preservation of wildlife.

Northern Hemisphere Everything north of the equator.

Physical features: natural features of a place, such as mountains, rivers and seas

Southern Hemisphere Everything south of the equator.

State: an area of land with its own government. There are 50 states in the USA .